EDIT

{{article.title}}

modified {{article.lastModStr}}
{{videoUrlObj.title || videoUrlObj.oEmbed.title}}
{{videoUrlObj.description || videoUrlObj.oEmbed.description}}
{{ article.videoUrls | totalDuration }}

Lighting and Rendering with RenderMan

Lighting and Rendering is a process between experience and knowledge. Knowing how RenderMan will behave when you change specific settings is good but knowing why is much better since the process is independent of some variables and can be applied anywhere (even in other renderers). My background is with mainly Arnold (3 years) and these are my notes of the last 2 weeks lighting and rendering with RenderMan.

This scene was originally from Dylan Sisson and was adjusted in composition and shading with a new lighting setup.

1. Lighting

a) overview

The art of light is the art of understanding and vision. The vision first follows the basic understanding of 3D lighting.

types

• Direct/infinity (sun)
  • Point
  • Spot (RenderMan: Disk light with filters)
  • Cylinder
  • Quad/Disk
  • Photometric
  • Mesh

Tip: Avoid using mesh lights since they tend to have noisier results (for now).

intension & color

You can change the light strenght by either using intension or exposure. Exposure is intension2 and should be used while intension stays at 1.

In terms of light color you have the options of color and color temperature. Color temperature should be your default pick and color just as an exception for crazy effects (neon signs, unrealistic lights).

Color temperature is described by Kelvin which is a measurement of thermodynamic temperature. This way you can setup lights exactly as they are in reality: candle light with 1800 kelvin.

falloff

Falloff describes the intensity drop of the light by distance. In reality we have a falloff by 1/x 2.

Formula: If the object is 5 meters away from the light the lights intensity would be 1/25 (1/52). With 1 meter it would be still 100% (1/12).

b) Lighting the scene